The Environmental Goods Agreement (EGA)
Members: 46/164
Open Initiative
Status: Negotiations Suspended

The Environmental Goods Agreement (EGA) seeks to reduce tariffs on goods considered to have benefits for sustainable production and consumption. The WTO Members involved attempted to agree among themselves a list of such goods and a schedule of tariff reductions on them. These tariff reductions would then be available to all WTO Members on a Most Favored Nation basis.

About this Plurilateral

The following WTO Members were parties to the negotiations on the Environmental Goods Agreement: Australia, Canada, China, Costa Rica, European Union (28 at the time), Hong Kong – China, Iceland, Israel, Japan, Korea, New Zealand, Norway, Singapore, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Chinese Taipei, Turkey and the United States.